Das Ende von Amerika
dis.playce
Maximilian Marcoll, Hannes Gallette Seidl

Germany

Wednesday 13th ° 10.00 pm °subsequent to Erin Gee - Mouthpiece

Thursday 14th ° 10.00 pm °subsequent to Erin Gee - Mouthpiece

Dachcafé




dis.playce is the collaboration between Maximilian Marcoll and Hannes Galette Seidl.

Their setup consists of Powerbooks and small electronic component parts (like piezos and spools). These parts are used to transduce electromagnetic fields (e.g. of cd-players, computers) into audible waves.

The two musicians will develop a concept with certain formal sections and predefined sounds on the basis of Franz Kafkas unfinished novel "Der Verschollene" ("America"), and improvise on that basis. This method allows acting spontaneously despite having some strong compositional elements in the music, like complex formal relations and sudden changes.

"Der Verschollene" belongs to a group of 19th century novels describing America as a country of unlimited opportunities. At the same time it preludes the endpoint of this series as Kafka questions the illusion of Island Utopia and oppose the return of the suppressed: to flee from your own life gets impossible.


Maximilian Marcoll, born in 1981 in Luebeck, Germany, studied percussion in the institute for school accompanying musical education at the Academy of Music Luebeck from 1992 to 1997. From 1997 - 2001 he studied composition at the Folkwang-Hochschule Essen. He won the price of the nation-wide competition Schueler komponieren (composition) four times. Performances as Laptop-musician, drummer and conductor. Several performances.

Hannes Galette Seidl, born 1977, studied composition at the Folkwang-Hochschule Essen from 1998-2003. Since 2003 he studies in the post-graduated course for composition with Beat Furrer and Nic. A. Hubner in Graz, Austria within the scholarship of DAAD. He gave several national and international performances. He held scholarship of Akademie der Künste Berlin 2002 / 2003, Darmstädter Ferienkurse für Neue Musik and award winner of Impulse 05.
Hannes Seidl lives in Frankfurt as independent composer.

Marcoll and Seidl founded dis.playce in 2002 and gave several performances since then.

Das Ende von Amerika
von dis.playce
Maximilian Marcoll, Hannes Gallette Seidl

Deutschland

Mittwoch, 13.10.2004 ° 22.00 ° im Anschluß an Erin Gee - Mouthpiece

Donnerstag, 14.10.2004 ° 22.00 im Anschluß an Erin Gee - Mouthpiece

Dachcafé




Das Elektronikduo dis.playce, Maximilian Marcoll und Hannes Galette Seidl, tritt mit zwei Laptops und diversen elektronischen Bauteilen auf. Ausgehend von Franz Kafkas unvollendetem Roman "Der Verschollene" ("Amerika") entwickeln die beiden Musiker ein Konzept mit vordefinierten Klängen und Formteilen, auf dessen Grundlage sie live improvisieren. Diese Arbeitsweise ermöglicht es ihnen, spontan musikalisch zu agieren, ohne auf komplexere Elemente in der Form, plötzliche Wechsel oder andere kompositorische Elemente verzichten zu müssen.

"Der Verschollene" ist Teil der Romane des 19. Jahrhunderts, die Amerika als Land der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten beschreiben. Gleichzeitig bildet "Der Verschollene" auch den Schlusspunkt dieser Reihe, da Kafka Amerika, das Land der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten, entmystifiziert und dem utopischen Land eine Wiederkehr des Verdrängten entgegensetzt: die Flucht aus dem eigenen Leben wird zur Unmöglichkeit.


Maximilian Marcoll, Jahrgang 1981, studierte u.a. von 1992- 1997 Schlagzeug (schulbegleitend) und von 1997-2001 Komposition an der Musikhochschule Lübeck. Seit 2001 studiert er Komposition an der Folkwang Hochschule Essen. Er ist viermaliger Gewinner des Bundeswettbewerbs Schüler Komponieren. Auftritte als Laptop-Musiker, Schlagzeuger und Dirigent. Diverse Aufführungen.

Hannes Galette Seidl, Jahrgang 1977, studierte von 1998-2003 Komposition an der Folkwang Hochschule Essen. Seit 2003 Postgraduiertenstudium für Komposition bei Nic.A. Hubner und Beat Furrer in Graz im Rahmen eines DAAD Stipendiums. Diverse Aufführungen im In- und Ausland. Er war Stipendiat der Akademie der Künste Berlin 2002 / 2003, Stipendienpreisträger der Darmstädter Ferienkurse für Neue Musik, Preisträger des Wettbewerbs Impulse 05 u.a.
Hannes Seidl lebt in Frankfurt als freier Komponist.

2002 gründeten sie dis.playce und treten seitdem regelmäßig auf.