Canary Variations
Shane Belles Project

USA ° Austria

Thursday, 14th ° 7.00 - 9.00 pm
Friday, 15th ° 7.00 - 9.00 pm
TiL



Canary Variations is a performance excerpt from the screenplay "Dakota", the moment - a critical choice binds or separates a character into personality, principle, emotion, and history; in the epic fantasy of identity. The live interpretation draws from melodrama, clown, cinema, Peking Opera, dance, and installation.


The actor, with the live musical composition, similarly compels each other to become - in the continually contrived moment of decision - part of another character. While the mechanics of movements are not subject to hierarchies, the pathology that enables them is. All this with the same interest: a precise look at the objective detail enacted. In this approach a parallel to the 'Landscape plays' by Gertrude Stein can be discovered, who tried to utilize the look of viewing landscapes and landscape-painting for theatre and her writing techniques.
The title of the piece comes from the phrase 'canary in the coal mine', when the canary was used to determine the presence of toxic fumes in the mine.


Shane Belles is a manufacturing engineer, living and working in Berlin. He is the principle conceiver and writer for the Shane Belles project.

Colin Gee studied at Lecoq School in Paris and Dell' Arte School of Physical Theater in Blue Lake, USA. In 1998 he moved to New York and began Limelight, a theatrical storytelling program for the aged, and was co-founder of Atlas Mason in residence with Mabou Mines. He was co-artistic director of The Flying Machine, theatre-company, from 1998-2001. and performed with Irene Hultman Dance, at the Joyce Theater and Jacobs Pillow Dance Festival. He has taught in South America, the US, and Europe; and was a principle clown for Cirque du Soleil, in Dralion from 2001- 04. He co-founded the company Shane Belles, with Shane Belles, in 2001.

Erin Gee studies with Beat Furrer in Graz as Rislov scholarship holder. She was born in California and finished her Bachelor and Masters degrees, in piano and composition respectively, at the University of Iowa. She gave numerous performances of her compositions in the USA, Germany and Austria, including the Internationale Ferienkurse Darmstadt, the R.A.T. festival in Novi Sad, the MATA festival in New York and during Sommerakademie Schloss Solitude. She is prize winner of Impuls Wettbewerb 2004 and has been commissioned by Neue Musik Tage Bludenz 2005.

The performed works of the company include musical, actor oriented, mixed media, and lecture/ demonstration. Principal performance works have taken place in Winston-Salem, USA; Graz, London, Mexico City and St. Louis, USA.

Canary Variations
Shane Belles Project

USA/Österreich

Donnerstag, 14.10.2004 ° 19.00 - 21.00
Freitag, 15.10.2004 ° 19.00 - 21.00
TiL



Die Performance Canary Variations basiert auf einem Auszug aus dem Drehbuch "Dakota". Der Moment einer kritischen Entscheidung bindet oder trennt den Charakter in Persönlichkeit, Prinzip, Emotion und Geschichte; in die epische Fantasie von Identität.


Die Live- Interpretation verwendet Elemente von Melodrama, Clownerie, Peking Oper, Tanz und Installation.
Der Schauspieler und die live komponierte Musik, zwingen einander gleichermaßen - in dem kontinuierlich neu entstehenden Moment der Entscheidung - einen anderen Charakter darzustellen.

Dabei unterliegen die Bewegungen keiner Hierarchisierung, die Pathologie die sie ermöglicht jedoch schon. Das Interesse von Shane Belles liegt auf der Methode, die Gesten mit einem genauen Blick für das Detail zu inszenieren. In dieser Herangehensweise lässt sich eine Parallelität zu den "Landscape plays" Gertrude Steins entdecken die versuchte, den Blick aus der Landschaftsbetrachtung und Landschaftsmalerei auf das Theater und auf ihre Schreibtechniken anzuwenden.
Der Titel des Stückes nimmt Bezug auf die Redewendung 'canary in the coal mine' - der Methode, Kanarienvögel in Kohleminen dazu zu benutzen, um an ihrer Reaktion das Vorhandensein giftiger Gase abzulesen.


Shane Belles ist Ingenieur für Herstellungstechnik. Er lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Er ist der Hauptdenker und -schreiber für das Shane Belles Projekt.

Colin Gee studierte an der Lecoq School in Paris und der Dell' Arte School of Physical Theater in Blue Lake, USA. 1998 zog er nach New York und entwickelte Limelight, a theatrical storytelling program for the aged. Des Weiteren war er Mitbegründer von Atlas Mason in residence with Mabou Mines. Er war Co-Regisseur der The Flying Machine, Theaterkompanie, von 1998-2001. Er war Darsteller bei Irene Hultman Dance, im Joyce Theater und beim Jacobs Pillow Dance Festival, New York. Er unterrichtete in Südamerika, den USA und Europa und war ein Haupt-Clownsdarsteller für den Cirque du Soleil, in Dralion von 2001- 04. Er ist Mitbegründer des Projekts Shane Belles, entstanden 2001.

Erin Gee (1974) studiert bei Beat Furrer in Graz als Rislov Stipendiatin. Sie wurde in Kalifornien geboren und absolvierte ihr Klavier- und Kompositionsstudium an der Universität in Iowa. Sie hatte bereits zahlreiche Aufführungen ihrer Kompositionen in den USA, Deutschland und Österreich, u.a. während der Internationalen Ferienkurse Darmstadt, auf den R.A.T. Festspielen in Novi Sad, den MATA Festspielen in New York und während der Sommerakademie Schloss Solitude. Sie ist Preisträgerin des Impuls Wettbewerb 2004 und bekam einen Auftrag für die Neue Musik Tage Bludenz 2005.

Das Shane Belles Projekt arbeitet in seinen Performances mit Musik, Schauspiel, der Kombination und Vermischung verschiedener Medien, sowie Lesungen.
Ihre Performances wurden bisher in Winston-Salem, USA; Graz, London, Mexico City und St. Louis, USA aufgeführt.