names, no names
Chris Richter

Germany

Wednesday, 13th ° 1.00 - 3.00 pm

Thursday, 14th ° 1.00 - 3.00 pm

Saturday, 16th ° 5.00 - 7.00 pm

Kirchenturm



The video installation names, no names views the problem of "presenting oneself" in front of a camera, respectively in front of a virtual spectator. Persons appearing in the video projection are in a special situation: they are expecting to be portrayed, what is finally realised in a video sequence, and see themselves confronted with the image promoted of themselves.

The longer they look into the camera, the more their self-presentation recedes into the background and an intimate moment seems to develop. The protagonists are captured in their unprotectedness by the camera but they are never exhibited disrespectfully.


Chris Richter (1973) ended an education as photographer and works since then with Wilfred Petzi in Munich. At the same time he studies at University for the Arts, Kassel since 1999 with bei Prof. Bernhard Prinz and Prof. Bjørn Melhus.
one person and group exhibitions (a choice):
2004: interventions at government-presidium in Kassel; Kurze Nacht - Museum Wiesbaden; 14. International Videofestival - Bochum; tour-price for names, no names - Kunsthochschule Kassel;
2005: Schaufenstergalerie - Kunsthalle Reklinghausen; Künstlerhaus Göttingen; Kulturbahnhof Kasel; Klasse Prinz in Murhardsche Bibliothek - Kassel

names, no names
von Chris Richter

Deutschland

Mittwoch, 13.10.2004 ° 13.00 - 15.00

Donnerstag, 14.10.2004 ° 13.00 - 15.00

Samstag, 16.10.2004 ° 17.00 - 19.00

Kirchenturm



Die Videoinstallation names, no names von Chris Richter thematisiert die Problematik des "Sich-Selbst-Präsentierens" vor der Kamera, bzw. vor einem virtuellen Betrachter. Die in der Videoprojektion erscheinenden Personen befinden sich in einer Art Ausnahmezustand: In Erwartung eines fotografischen Portraits, das letztlich in Form einer Videosequenz realisiert wurde, sehen sie sich mit der Aufgabe der Selbstdarstellung konfrontiert.

Je länger sie in die Kamera blicken, desto mehr tritt die Selbstdarstellung in den Hintergrund und ein privater Moment scheint zu entstehen. Die Protagonisten werden von der Kamera in ihrer Schutzlosigkeit eingefangen, wirken dabei jedoch niemals ausgestellt.


Chris Richter, Jahrgang 1973, hat eine Fotografenausbildung bei Wilfried Petzi in München abgeschlossen und studiert seit 1999 an der Kunsthochschule Kassel bei Prof. Bernhard Prinz und Prof. Bjørn Melhus.
Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen (Auswahl):
2004: Interventionen im Regierungspräsidium Kassel; Kurze Nacht im Museum Wiesbaden; 14. Internationales Bochumer Videofestival; Kunsthochschule Kassel, Rundgangspreis für die Videoinstallation names, no names;
2005: Kunsthalle Recklinghausen, Schaufenstergalerie; Künstlerhaus Göttingen, Einzelausstellung; Kulturbahnhof Kassel, Südflügel; Murhardsche Bibliothek, Kassel, Klasse Prinz