PATENT: FILES - ERSTE FALLSTUDIEN ZU PATENT: NIGHT FLIGHT
Melanie Mohren and Bernhard Herbordt
with Martin Fernandez, Max Landgrebe, Katja Praznik

Germany

Saturday, 16th °
3.00 pm
Probebühne



How could, yet they are not flying but falling, potato beetles from Colorado befall fields in Eastern and Western Europe?


Participants of Patent: Night Flight determine that and other questions starting from one of the oldest dramaturgies of freedom, flight and their failure - the myth of Ikarus and his inventing father Daedalus: an artist in the role of an inventor, an actor in the role of an actor, a philosopher in the role of an observer. They all act as protagonists and fitters of myth - production, they are always retyping history and stories with the means of their real profession.

How can the short moment, when fall seems possible for the first time, become big theatre? What is the sound of falling potato beetles? How do they take part in the theatre of neoliberal ideals and utopia? What is necessary to continue with a sure-of-victory-smile despite oncoming fall? What is the sound of the implosion of history and memory?

In short lectures and scenic case studies first sketches and results of research for Patent: Night Flight (premiere: Dec 8th 2004 at Mousonturm, Frankfurt) should be presented and discussed.


Melanie Mohren (1979) and Bernhard Herbordt (1978) study at the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies, Giessen since 1998. Since 1999 they are working together for interdisciplinary projects, installations, works for broadcast, theatre and Site-Specific-Environments.
Projects, among others:
2000 Looking for a small story, radio play, that won NRW-Hörspielpreis in 2001, performances among others Akademie der Künste Berlin, Filmmuseum Düsseldorf, Filmhaus Köln, Loge Winterthur.
2001 world in a box - Audiotheater für zwei Zuschauer (Audio theatre for two spectators), performances among others at diskurs Giessen, Hamburger Kammerspiele, UniDram Potsdam, Mousonturm Frankfurt, ITs Festival Amsterdam.
In February 2004 they were guests at Berliner Zimmer des Hebbel am Ufer Berlin. State of work of stage projects Kapital N.N. and Patent: Night Flight was presented there. Performance of Kapital N.N. at Hessische Theatertage, Giessen, in July 2004.
Currently they are working for their diploma production Patent: Night Flight.

Sponsored by Giessener Hochschulgesellschaft.

PATENT: FILES - ERSTE FALLSTUDIEN ZU PATENT: NIGHT FLIGHT
Melanie Mohren und Bernhard Herbordt
mit Martin Fernandez, Max Landgrebe, Katja Praznik

Deutschland

Samstag, 16.10.2004 °
15.00
Probebühne



Wie konnten, da sie doch nicht fliegen, sondern nur fallen, Kartoffelkäfer aus Colorado Felder in Ost- und West-Europa befallen?


Diese und andere Fragen ermitteln die Akteure von Patent: Night Flight ausgehend von einer der ältesten Dramaturgien von Freiheit, Flucht und ihrem Scheitern, dem Mythos von Ikarus und seinem erfindenden Vater Daedalus: ein bildender Künstler in der Rolle des Erfinders, ein Schauspieler in der Rolle des Schauspielers, eine Philosophin in der Rolle des Beobachters. Sie alle fungieren als Protagonisten und Monteure der Mythenproduktion, mit den Mitteln ihrer realen Profession schreiben sie Geschichte und Geschichten stets neu.

Wie kann der kurze Moment, an dem der Absturz erstmals möglich scheint, zu großem Theater werden? Wie klingt das Fallen von Kartoffelkäfern? Wie spielen sie mit im Theater neoliberaler Ideale und Utopien? Was ist notwendig, um trotz nahendem Sturz mit einem siegessicheren Lächeln weiterzumachen? Wie klingt die Implosion von Geschichte und Erinnerung?

In Kurzvorträgen und szenischen Versuchsanordnungen werden erste Skizzen und Rechercheergebnisse in einer Fallstudie zu Patent: Night Flight (Premiere am 08.12.2004 im Mousonturm) vor- und zur Diskussion gestellt.


Melanie Mohren, Jahrgang 1979, und Bernhard Herbordt, Jahrgang 1978, studieren seit 1998 am Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft, Giessen. Seit 1999 entstehen gemeinsame interdisziplinäre Projekte, Raum- und Audioinstallationen, Arbeiten für Rundfunk, Theater und Site-Specific-Environments.
Projekte u.a.:
2000 Looking for a small story, Hörspiel das 2001 mit dem NRW-Hörspielpreis ausgezeichnet wurde, Aufführungen u.a. Akademie der Künste Berlin, Filmmuseum Düsseldorf, Filmhaus Köln, Loge Winterthur.
2001 world in a box - Audiotheater für zwei Zuschauer, Aufführungen u.a. bei diskurs Giessen, Hamburger Kammerspiele, UniDram Potsdam, Mousonturm Frankfurt, ITs Festival Amsterdam.
Im Februar 2004 Gast im Berliner Zimmer des Hebbel am Ufer Berlin. Dort wurden die Arbeitsstände der Bühnenprojekte Kapital N.N. und Patent: Night Flight präsentiert. Im Juli 2004 Aufführung von Kapital N.N. zu den Hessischen Theatertagen, TiL Giessen. Zurzeit arbeiten beide an ihrer Diplominszenierung Patent: Night Flight.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Giessener Hochschulgesellschaft.