Presentation 1,2,3...; Pictures; Dance
Anna Ostoya

Poland

Tuesday, 12th 2004 ° 7.00 - 9.00 pm

Friday, 15th 2004 ° 2.00 - 3.00 pm

Saturday, 16th 2004 ° 8.00 - 10.00 pm

IBP Halle



Characteristic to the works of Anna Ostoya is her sense of absurdity and a subtle flair of humour.


In the installation presentation 1, 2, 3... the smiling hostess demonstrates surreal ways of killing oneself with objects that can easily be found at any home. Real black and white pictures overlap with colourful and bright dadaistic drawings.

Pictures shows series of photos from the artist's past, engaging with the relationship between subject and representation, authenticity and theatricality. How do we make up our personality, how does it develop historically institutionalised? Anna Ostoya demonstrates these daily practices of annexation in a "fictive retrospective".

The work dance reflects the history of dance by bonding scenes from medieval theatre to characteristic attitudes and stereotypes from different epochs and styles.
Her collage of photos, which are combined with masks and drawings delivers various references to literature, history, mythology and popular culture.


Anna Ostoya (1978) studied in Paris and at Städelschule, Frankfurt/Main since summer 2002.
She has realised different projects since 2000, for example Contact - ZAR Gallery, Krakow, 2002; En Garde - Gallery 14, Paris, 2000; Game - Parsons Gallery, Paris, 2001; Klasse - Kunstraum Offenbach, 2002; Supermarket Sztuki - an exhibition for young artists in Warsaw, 2003; S Salon - Perpetuel Gallery, Frankfurt/Main, 2003; Presentation - Zderzak Gallery, Krakow, 2004.

Presentation 1,2,3...; Pictures; Dance
Anna Ostoya

Polen

Dienstag, 12.10.2004 ° 19.00 - 21.00

Freitag, 15.10.2004 ° 14.00 - 15.00

Samstag, 16.10.2004 ° 20.00 - 22.00

IBP Halle



Charakteristisch für die Arbeiten von Anna Ostoya ist ihr Sinn für Absurdität und ein feines Gespür für Humor.


In der Installation presentation 1, 2, 3... demonstriert eine lächelnde Hostess verschiedene Arten Selbstmord zu begehen; die dafür benötigten Hilfsmittel sind leicht in jedem Haushalt zu finden. Die Schwarz- Weiß Photos, die Anna Ostoya verwendet, werden von heiteren, bunten Zeichnungen im Stil des Dada überdeckt.

pictures zeigt Photoserien aus der Vergangenheit der Künstlerin, die sich mit dem Verhältnis von Subjekt und Repräsentation, Authentizität und Inszenierung beschäftigen. Wie eignet man sich seine Persönlichkeit an, schreibt sie fest durch Geschichte? Diese alltäglichen Aneignungspraktiken führt Anna Ostoya in einer "fiktiven Retrospektive" vor.

Die Arbeit dance reflektiert Tanzgeschichte, indem sie Szenen aus dem mittelalterlichen Theater, charakteristische Haltungen und Stereotype aus verschiedenen Epochen und Stilrichtungen zusammenfügt.
Mit einer Collage, in der sie über animierte Fotos Masken und Zeichnungen legt, macht Anna Ostoya zahlreiche Referenzen zu Literatur, Geschichte, Mythologie, aber auch Popkultur auf.


Anna Ostoya (1978) studierte in Paris und ist seit Sommer 2002 Studentin an der Städelschule, Frankfurt/ Main. Seit 2000 hat sie verschiedenste Projekte erarbeitet.
Projekte (Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen sowie Performances) u.a.: Contact - ZAR Galerie, Krakau, 2002; En Garde - Galerie 14, Paris, 2000; Game - Parsons Galerie, Paris, 2001; Klasse - Kunstraum Offenbach, 2002; Supermarket Sztuki - eine Ausstellung für Nachwuchskünstler in Warschau, 2003; S Salon - Perpetuel Galerie, Frankfurt/Main, 2003; Presentation - Zderzak Galerie, Krakau, 2004.