White Out
Andros Zinsbrowne

Belgium

Thursday 14th ° 9.00 pm
Friday 15th ° 9.00 pm
Probebühne



Andros Zinsbrowne engages in White Out with the construction of race and its contextualisation. He examines the "black" body, via "black" movements.


His basic material is the stereotype of "the black man", the basketball player, from which transformation into other figures begins.

The basketball player is permanently oscillating between offence and defence, he is aggressor and victim, transforms from athlete to criminal, from servant to champion, from performer to ape.

How can significations be twisted in a way to make them reveal something of the absurdity of these positions and roles?
What does the image itself offer? What are its implications which are at the same time true, in such a way that they have produced and reproduced truths to be consumed and perpetuated.

By re-using these images, Andros Zinsbrowne neither allows them to be a mere product of a racist but bygone authority, nor to assume that we do not participate in their continuation. This strategy offers the possibility of a direct involvement in the meanings of these images and the ways in which they are produced.


Andros Zinsbrowne (US) began his dance study in classical ballet at the Joffrey Ballet School at the age of seven. He started to make performance pieces and choreography in High School. In 2002 he graduated from Brown University with a B.A. in Art Semiotics, after taking a year off to make several pieces and study dance technique at Merce Cunningham and Trisha Brown studios.
He is currently a student at PARTS (Performing Arts Research and Training Studios) in Brussels, Belgium where he has made three pieces, working in a way which attempts to present both physicality and criticism, seamlessly. His solo White Out (2004) is his first piece to be presented internationally in festivals in Brussels, Amsterdam, Bilbao, and Frankfurt.

White Out
Andros Zinsbrowne

Belgien

Donnerstag, 14.10.2004 ° 21.00
Freitag, 15.10.2004 ° 21.00
Probebühne



Andros Zinsbrowne beschäftigt sich in White Out mit rassischen Zuschreibungen und den Kontexten, in die sie eingebettet sind. Er untersucht dafür Konstruktionen eines schwarzen Körpers und schwarze Bewegungen.


Die stereotype Figur des schwarzen Mannes als Basketballspieler dient als Ausgangsmaterial, von dem aus sich Veränderungen in andere Figuren entwickeln.

Der Basketballspieler befindet sich in einem permanenten Wechsel zwischen Defensive und Offensive, er ist Angreifer oder Opfer, verändert sich vom Athleten zum Kriminellen, vom Diener zum Champion, vom Performer zum Affen.

Wie können diese Bilder so verdreht werden, dass sie etwas von der Absurdität der Rollen und Zuschreibungen offenbaren?
Was kann das Bild selbst anbieten? Auf welche Wirklichkeiten kann es verweisen, Wirklichkeiten die es selbst produziert und reproduziert, die konsumiert und aufrechterhalten werden.

Stereotype Bilder wieder zu verwenden, ihnen dadurch weder zu erlauben, nur rassistisches aber verbanntes Produkt zu sein, noch anzunehmen dass man nicht an ihrem Fortbestand teilhat, eröffnet die Möglichkeit eines direkten Einblicks in ihre Bedeutungen und den Prozess ihrer Produktion.


Andros Zinsbrowne (USA) begann sein Studium des klassischen Balletts an der Joffrey Ballet School im Alter von sieben Jahren. In der High School erarbeite er erste eigenen Performances und Choreographien. 2002 machte er seinen Bachelor in Art Semiotics an der Brown University, nachdem er sich ein Jahr Auszeit von der Uni genommen hatte um eigene Stücke zu inszenieren und an den Merce Cunningham und Trisha Brown Studios Tanztechnik zu studieren.
Momentan ist er Student bei P.A.R.T.S. (Performing Arts Research and Training Studios) in Brüssel, Belgien und hat dort bisher drei eigene Stücke entwickelt, in denen er versucht beides - einen körperlichen und kritischen Ansatz - zu verhandeln. Sein Solo White Out wird als erstes seiner Stück international gezeigt, u.a. in Brüssel, Amsterdam, Bilbao und Frankfurt.