SITE-SPECIFIC °

The site-specific working intends to open up the location of art in relation to daily life. Art therefore is not created independent of time and place, but tries to break rules through the experience of site-specific working, which discovers the special qualities and impulses of a location. Through detailed examination or the willingness to discover, the uniqueness of a place can be revealed.

In connection to the subject of HOPE, site-specific experience offers great potentials.
The search for HOPE in cities, buildings, stations, plazas, canteens and commercial centres, in empty, lively or hidden places, will always be in connection with the stories and memories of these locations.
Where is HOPE hiding? Where is HOPE to be found? How is daily life and habits influencing thoughts? How big can HOPE be? What function carries art in society and what is the role of HOPE? What lets people lose HOPE? How much influence has a political situation on personal HOPE? How hopeless is the economical situation? Who is in need of HOPE?

The question of HOPE is a question asked and discussed at all times, in all situations of life and in all parts of society. By examining this topic beyond bare sociological aspects the laboratory approaches HOPE through the means of art, resulting in the discovery of new dimensions, which allow a more associative approach towards HOPE.

SITE-SPECIFIC °

Site-Specific-Arbeiten strebt nach einer Öffnung zwischen dem Ort der Kunst und der Alltagswelt. Kunst wird nicht mehr unabhängig von Zeit und Raum konzipiert und entwickelt, sondern versucht Grenzen aufzubrechen. Site-Specific-Arbeiten versucht die besonderen Qualitäten eines Ortes zu finden, Impulse aufzugreifen und mit diesen zu arbeiten, versucht durch gezieltes Forschen oder durch die Bereitschaft zu entdecken sich der Einzigartigkeit eines Ortes zu öffnen.

In Verbindung mit dem Thema HOPE bietet Site-Specific-Arbeiten ein großes Potential.
Die Suche nach HOPE in Städten, Häusern, Bahnhöfen, auf Plätzen, in Kantinen und in Kaufhäusern, in leerstehenden, belebten oder versteckt genutzten Gebäuden, steht immer in Verbindung mit den Geschichten und Erinnerungen dieser Orte.
Wo versteckt sich HOPE? Wo findet sich HOPE? Wie beeinflussen Alltag und Lebensweise das Denken der Menschen? Wie groß muss Hoffnung sein? Welche Funktion hat Kunst in der Gesellschaft und welche Rolle spielt HOPE dabei? Wie sehr beeinflusst die politische Situation die persönliche Hoffnung der Menschen?

Die Frage nach HOPE ist eine Frage, die in allen Lebensbereichen, in allen Gesellschaftsschichten und zu allen Zeiten immer wieder gestellt und diskutiert wird. Indem dieser Begriff nicht unter dem rein soziologischen Aspekt betrachtet wird, sondern das Laboratorium versucht, sich durch einen zusätzlich künstlerischen Ansatz HOPE zu nähern, öffnen sich andere und neue Dimensionen, die einen assoziativeren Zugang ermöglichen.